Home » Governor Lalong Appoints Interim Management Committee On Plateau Road Traffic Administration And Vehicle Inspection

Governor Lalong Appoints Interim Management Committee On Plateau Road Traffic Administration And Vehicle Inspection

by Tognaan Bawa
0 comment 2 minutes read

By Tongnaan Dada Bawa, Jos

Plateau State Governor Rt. Hon. Simon Bako Lalong has approved the constitution a 7 man Interim Management Committee on Road Traffic Administration and Vehicle Inspection within Jos and Bukuru Metropolis.

In a statement signed by Dr. Makut Simon Macham
Director of Press and Public Affairs to the Governor, on Wednesday in Jos, disclosed
Tha the Interim Management Committee which is expected to work towards ensuring safe, organised and seamless road transportation within the Metropolis is to be guided by the terms of reference contained in the Law on the Establishment of the Plateau State Road Traffic Administration and Vehicle Inspection Authority 2020.

According to the governor, among other things, the Committee is to prohibit vehicles waiting or parking on any specified highway within the Jos-Bukuru Metropolis as well as to regulate the conduct of persons driving, propelling or in charge of, or riding any vehicle or animals on highways within the metropolis.

Governor Lalong, explained that It is to also prohibit illegal loading and off-loading of passengers or goods other than at designated lay-byes and parks within the city; and also restrict movement, parking, loading and off-loading of trailers and articulated vehicles on the highways between 6am to 6pm.

He maintained that the Committee has also been mandated to tow all abandoned vehicles on the highways; identify and prohibit Tricycles not registered from operating within the Jos-Bukuru metropolis and impound same; identify and recommend suitable places for conversion to motor parks and truck terminals; and also identify persons and vehicles using unauthorized Government Plate Numbers and prosecute such persons within extant laws.

He said all fines collected by the Committee are expected to be receipted and paid into the coffers of the State Internal Revenue Service within stipulated period.

The Committee according to Governor Lalong has
Mr. Noel Pirinkwap as the Chairman,
Bulus Dagwam, Engr. Stephen Nyam,
Alh. Babangida Maihula,
Alh. Muhammad Isa,
Representative of the FRSC are to serve as members while
Engr. John Dayah (Chief VIO) is the Secretary.

The Committee will be inaugurated soon and is expected to swing into action thereafter to carry out its mandate.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

We are a media platform published by Prime Time Newspapers Limited, based in Kano. its committed to passionate, insightful and objective coverage on democracy, governance, business, security and humanitarian values.

Feature Posts


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More