Home » Power tussle splits Plateau House Of Assembly Impeaches Ayuba Abok, and elects Yakubu Sanda

Power tussle splits Plateau House Of Assembly Impeaches Ayuba Abok, and elects Yakubu Sanda

by Tognaan Bawa
0 comment 5 minutes read

By Tongnaan Dada Bawa, Jos

The Speaker of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Ayuba Abok was on Thursday Morning impeached by eight out of the twenty-four members of the House of Assembly and elected Member Representing Pengana Constituency, Yakubu Sanda as the New Speaker.

Abok is a Member Representing Jos East Constituency in the State House of Assembly and also a member of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly Rt. Hon. Saleh Yepmong who presided sitting on Thursday during the impeached.

Majority Leader of the House of Assembly and Member Representing Mikang Constituency Hon. Daniel Naanlong told our Correspondent on Thursday after the impeachment said 16 members of the State Assembly signed the impeachment of the Speaker.

“It is true that we now have a New Speaker in the Plateau State House of Assembly he is Rt. Hon. Yakubu Sanda Member Representing Pengana Constituency, the former Speaker Rt. Hon. Ayuba Abok was impeached due to gross incompetent, financial misappropriation and was refused to participate in an important functions of Government amongst other things”.

He said they impeached the former Speaker because of his personal ambition which had delayed the presentation of budget by the Governor of the State.

Naanlong said the Members impeached the Speaker after passing a vote of no confidence on the Lawmaker.

However the PDP Caucus of the House of Assembly has kick against the impeachment and described it as illegal.

Member Representing Langtang North Central Constituency in the state House of Assembly, Hon. Daniel Nanbolistic while Speaking to Journalists on Thursday described the action of the eight lawmakers as “the height of illegality”

“It could be recalled that there were fracas between the Executive Arm of Government and the Legislature two months ago. Most of us on the Plateau are aware of what led to all these fracas.

“It is also part of our constitutional responsibility to defend the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“On this faithful morning of Thursday 28.10.2021 some Honourble Members came into the House of Assembly Chambers and created gross confusion by carrying out an illegal act that they impeached the Rt. Hon. Speaker

“They went against Section 92(2c) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Order 7 rule 14 of Standing Orders of the Plateau State House of Assembly. You know the state House of Assembly is made up of 24 members and the constitutional requirement for the removal of the Speaker is 2/3 majority which is 16 members.

“So, eight lawmakers rushed to the Assembly this morning against the House rules that say that plenary commences from 9 am and even if there is going to be an extraordinary sitting, the Speaker is the one who is empowered to convene but that did not happen. When some of us got wind of what was happening, we rushed to the Assembly complex only to discover that Security operatives had barricaded everywhere. Some of us were stopped from gaining access to the Assembly complex while they also harassed others.

The State Assembly has 24 Members with the APC being the majority and rumours of the impeachment were heard since last week but Members denied such but the plan was concluded on Wednesday and the duo impeached during plenary on Thursday

Hon. Nanbol said the eight lawmakers went against Section 92(2c) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Order 7 rule 14 of Standing Orders of the Plateau State House of Assembly.

Our correspondent gathered that eight lawmakers who participated in the impeachment were Honourables Baba Ibrahim Hassan – APC – Jos North North, Saleh Shehu Yipmwang – APC – Dengi, Naanlong Daniel Gapyil – APC – Mikang and Livinus James Kwapfuan – APC – Shendam.

Others are Eric Dakogol – APC – Quanpan North, Abubakar Mohammed Ballo – APC – Quanpan South, Yakubu Sanda – APC – Pengan, Abdul Yanga – APC – Mangu North West and Yahaya Mavo – APC – Wase.

The Majority Leader of the House of Assembly Hon. Daniel Naanlong together with other principal officers Hon. Saleh Shehu Yipmong and other members had presented the New Speaker to the Governor of Plateau State Barr. Simon Lalong at the old Government House Rayfield, represented by the Secretary to State Government Prof. Danladi Atu, who assured the the law makers of governments support and cordial working relationship.

Lawmakers of the Plateau State House of Assembly has Suspended Six members of the state assembly for gross misconduct, insubordination and legislative rascality

Moving the motion for the suspension of the 6 lawmakers during plenary Majority leader plateau House of assembly Hon Philip Dasun Said their Suspension became necessary owing to their act of insubordination and gross misconduct for attempts to cause disunity in the house.

He said the lawmakers who are desperate attempted to impeach the Speaker in the early hours of the day but failed haven collected millions of naira from the executive has failed in their attempt and thereby remain suspended

The Majority leader Philip Dasun Said the suspended members are as follows
Saleh Yipmong Dengi (APC)
Nanlong Daniel Mikang,(APC)
Yakubu Sanda Pengana,APC)
Mohammed Balo Quan Pan South(APC)
Eric Dakogoal Quan Pan North(APC)
Baba Hassan(APC) Jos north north

Speaking futher the house leadership has also pass a vote of Confidence on the speaker of the house of assembly Abok Nuhu for his leadership qualities which is a clear indication of his acceptability by the plateau people

Supporting the motion for the suspension of the lawmakers the minority leader Peter Gyangdeng Said the actions of the suspended Lawmakers is an act of illegality and said the house will not tolerate interference by executive

He also supported the motion for a vote of Confidence passed on the Speaker Abok Nuhu Ayuba for his strong leadership qualities and people drive legislative programs which has endured him to the people of plateau state

The house leadership later addressed journalist on developments that took place in the house of assembly this morning led by the house Committee chairman on information Hon Philip Dasun

You may also like

Leave a Comment

About Us

We are a media platform published by Prime Time Newspapers Limited, based in Kano. its committed to passionate, insightful and objective coverage on democracy, governance, business, security and humanitarian values.

Feature Posts


Subscribe my Newsletter for new blog posts, tips & new photos. Let's stay updated!

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More