loader image
February 28, 2024

PDP Wins State Constituency Re-run Election in Adamawa

From Umar Dankano, Yola

Candidate of People’s Democratic Party(PDP), Hon. Musa Mahmoud Kallamu has emerged winner of the Mayo belwa state constituency’s bye election in Adamawa state.

Declaring the Saturday’s by-election results at the collation centre, the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC through its returning officer Professor Mohammed Baba Ardo announced that, the PDP’s candidate (Kallamu) scored a total of 1,306 votes to defeat candidate of  the All Progressives Congress (APC) Ibrahim Musa Italiya who garnered 874 votes.

Professor Ardo declared that, Hon. Kallamu won 6 out of 7 of the polling units in the election stressing  that, having satisfied the requirements of the law, Kallamu has been returned elected.

The Returning Officer revealed that total number of registered voters as 5,024 adding that 2,252 voters were accredited while 2,192 valid votes were recorded just as 06 votes were rejected and a total of 2,252 votes were cast.

Ardo explained that, during the 2023 general election 20,824 valid votes were cast and 367 votes were rejected saying that, out of the number, APC scored 7,912 while PDP scored 7,840 with margin of 72 votes.

He said the cumulative votes scored from the initial votes and the by-election stand thus: registered votes 56999; accredited votes 24610 while the total votes cast are 23443.

He declared that the candidate of PDP who scored in all a total of 9,146 won the bye election as the APC’s candidate came second with 8,786 votes in both the general and bye election respectively.

Share Post

Mustapha Salisu

Mustapha Salisu is a graduate of BSc. Information and Media Studies from Bayero University Kano, with experience in Communication Skills as well as Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *