loader image
July 14, 2024

Abia gov swears in commissioners

Dr. Alex Otti, of Abia State on Friday, swore in 16 commissioners cleared by the state House of Assembly in the state and apportioned portfolios to them.

The commissioners include, Ikechukwu Uwanna (Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice), Prof. Monica Ironkwe (Agriculture), Kingsley Anosike (Budget and Planning), Prof. Mrs. Uche Eme Uche (Education), Philemon Asonye Ogbonna (Environment and Urban Planning), Mike Akpara (Finance), Dr. Ngozi Okoronkwo (Health), Prince Okey Kanu (Information and Culture), and Chaka Chukwumerije (Lands and Housing).

Others are Prince Uzor Nwachukwu (Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs), Prof. Joel Friday Ogbonna (Petroleum and Mineral Resources), (Science and Technology), Nwaobilor Ananaba (Sports and Youth Development), Dr. Chimezie Isaac Ukaegbu (Trade, Commerce and Industry), Dr. Mrs. Ngozi Blessing Felix (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation), and Engr. Don. Otti (Works).

The rest are Comrade Sunny Onwuma (Transport), Engr. Ikechukwu Monday (Power and Public Utilities) and Dr. Max Ekwuruibe (Digital Economy and SME).

Speaking after the Oath of Office and Allegiance were administered on the commissioners by the Solicitor General of the State and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Lady Uzoamaka Ikonne, at Government House, Umuahia, Otti charged them to be committed to the service of the state.

The governor, who stressed that the development of critical infrastructure is the fulcrum of the administration, said their responsibilities are huge, hence excuses would not be tolerated as there would be zero tolerance for corruption.

He stressed that building a new Abia is the key vision of his administration, adding that he is committed to having a functional society that posterity would appreciate.

Otti who said they were not appointed to represent the interest of individuals or clans but that of the entire state, urged them to work together to rebuild Abia.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barr. Ikechukwu Uwanna pledged to discharge their duties to the best of their abilities.

It is gathered that Three out of the 19 commissioners were yet to be cleared by the Assembly but would be sworn in later.

Share Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *