loader image
February 22, 2024

African Union officially joins G20 bloc

The African Union has formally become a member of the G20, as announced by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his opening remarks at the G20 Summit in New Delhi, India.

Modi extended the invitation, and the African Union was welcomed as a permanent member with resounding applause.

This move received widespread support, making the African Union the second regional bloc to attain permanent membership in the G20, following the European Union.

The G20 comprises the world’s most influential economies, representing 85% of global GDP, 75% of international trade, and two-thirds of the world’s population.

Its member countries include the US, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, the European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, and Turkey.

Additionally, President Bola Tinubu is among the nine invited guests attending the summit.

Share Post

Mustapha Salisu

Mustapha Salisu is a graduate of BSc. Information and Media Studies from Bayero University Kano, with experience in Communication Skills as well as Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *