loader image
July 17, 2024

Triennial Congress: Newly sworn-in President thanks delegates, vows to lead inclusive, progressive SWAN

From Sani Gazas Chinade, Damaturu 

The newly sworn-in President of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), Mr. Isaiah Benjamin, has expressed gratitude to the delegates, immediate past leadership and others who contributed to the success of the just concluded National Triennial Delegates Congress.

Speaking shortly after his emergence and inauguration at the election which held at Krisdera hotel Omoku Rivers state, the President who particularly hailed Sir Honour Sirawo-led administration for laying strong foundation for SWAN to flourish, thanked the National Election Committee (SWANECO), headed by Mr. Sunny Ogele for adhering strictly to SWAN statute which ensured a hitch-free process.

Mr. Benjamin while assuring of his readiness to lead an inclusive association, enjoined members to keep faith with his administration’s resolve to build a formidable SWAN.

He therefore, appealed to various contestants to join hands with the current National Executive Committee (NEC) irrespective of personal feelings on the election.

“I wish to humbly appeal that they take it in good faith though painful. Whatever opportunity they fail to get today can always be gotten in the nearest future.

“I wish to appeal to them that this aadminstration for which I have been given the mandate to lead will run an all inclusive and open government and their wealth of experience individually and collectively will be sought to move the association forward, and like I said in one of my posters during the electioneering campaigns, together we can do it, God helping us.

“I’m not unaware that some of our members may be aggrieved rightly or wrongly but whatever it is, my desire is to run a stronger and more united SWAN, and towards achieving this, I will engage in genuine reconciliation of those members aggrieved for whatever reason so that together we can all be on the same page,” he said.

The President also prayed for safety of all who participated at the epoch-making National event as they return to their destination.

Others sworn-in after the rigorous electoral processes which climaxed on Thursday July 13, 2023 include Hon. Bonny Nyong (Deputy President), Amb. Ikenna Okonkwo (Secretary-General), Mr. Ayodeji Ogunsakin (Vice President South-west) Mr. Azuka Ralph Chiemeka (Vice President South-south), Mrs Ijeoma Peter Nwante (Financial Secretary) and Mr. Augustine Ajayi (Welfare Officer).

Shortly after, the President named four officials to fill some vacant NEC positions.

They include Mr. Francis Omokhua (Vice President South-east), Mr. Ahmed Kagana Amshi (Vice President North-east) Mr. Olalekan Ige (Deputy Secretary-General), and Mr. Seun Ajayi-Obe (Ex-Officio).

Share Post

Mustapha Salisu

Mustapha Salisu is a graduate of BSc. Information and Media Studies from Bayero University Kano, with experience in Communication Skills as well as Public Relations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *